Five Honored for Professional Achievements in Law

April 22, 2012

Five individuals associated with the College of Law received awards for their professional accomplishments and significant service to the profession and their communities from the Law College Association (LCA) and the University of Arizona Alumni Association (UAAA) at the 39th Annual Appreciation Dinner of the Law College Association on Saturday, April 21, 2012, in Phoenix.

Alumni receiving the UAAA Professional Achievement Award are:

  • Susan Boswell, an Arizona native who received both her undergraduate and law degrees from the University of Arizona. She is a partner at Quarles & Brady with nearly three decades of bankruptcy practice, a charter member of the Arizona Women Lawyer’s Association, and a member of the College of Law’s Board of Visitors.
  • L. Richard Fried, who received both UA undergraduate and law degrees, and has practiced in Hawaii for more than forty years. He has served as the president of the Consumer Lawyers of Hawaii on two different occasions and serves on the Judicial Evaluation Committee for the State of Hawaii and as a Lawyer Representative to the Ninth Circuit for the District of Hawaii. He also has been a member of the American Association for Justice, the American Board of Trial Advocates, and the Birth Trauma Litigation Group.
  • Robin Lerner received both her undergraduate and law degrees from the University of Arizona. She recently left her job as Counsel to the United States Senate Committee on Foreign Relations, where she advised Chairman John Kerry on issues related to human rights, refugees, trafficking in persons, and gender equity. As a presidential appointee, she now serves as Deputy Assistant Secretary of State in the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs where she oversees international education programs and exchanges.
  • Former Congressman John Shadegg is currently a partner at Steptoe & Johnson after having served eight terms in the United States House of Representatives. During that time, he served on the Energy and Commerce Committees and on the Select Committee on Energy Independence and Global Warming. For two years, former Congressman Shadegg was the Chairman of the Republican Study Committee and after the 2004 election he was elected Chairman of the House Republican Policy Committee. He has received both his undergraduate and law degrees from the University of Arizona.

In addition, the LCA inaugurated a new award, called the University of Arizona Law College Association Award. It will be presented to Dean Emerita Toni Massaro, a Regents’ Professor and the Milton O. Riepe Chair in Constitutional Law. Prof. Massaro received her B.S. from Northwestern University and her law degree from the College of William and Mary. She practiced with a firm in Chicago and has taught at Washington and Lee University, Stanford University, UNC-Chapel Hill, and the University of Florida. Prof. Massaro joined the faculty at the University of Arizona College of Law in 1989. Since 1997, she has been the Milton O. Riepe Chair in Constitutional Law at the University of Arizona. In 2006 she was named Regents’ Professor. In 1999, she became the College of Law’s first female dean. After a ten-year deanship, she returned to the faculty. She has served as a Board member of the Southern Arizona ACLU, the American Bar Foundation, the American Law Institute, and several Arizona State Bar Committees. She received the Leslie F. and Patricia Bell Faculty Award in 1998-1999 and has been a six-time recipient of the Teacher of the Year Award at the University of Arizona College of Law.