Christopher L. Griffin, Jr.

Director of Empirical & Policy Research; Research Professor

Christopher L. Griffin, Jr., is the Director of Empirical & Policy Research and a research professor at the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law.

Professor Griffin teaches Civil Procedure, Remedies, and Empirical Methods in the Law. His research empirically investigates whether ideas for enhancing access to justice work or don’t. Professor Griffin and his colleagues primarily use randomized control trials to evaluate the causal effects of existing and innovative solutions for narrowing the justice gap. Most of these studies focus on the civil justice system, including the efficacy of unbundled legal services in housing court, the value of connecting survivors of intimate partner violence to civil legal aid, and the potential promise of non-lawyer models of legal services provision. Professor Griffin is also involved in randomized evaluations of criminal pretrial risk assessments. His work has appeared in the Journal of Empirical Legal Studies, the Utah Law Review, and the William & Mary Law Review.

He holds a B.S. in International Political Economy, magna cum laude, from Georgetown University's School of Foreign Service, where he was a John Carroll Scholar and a Beinecke Scholar; an MPhil in Economics from the University of Oxford, where he was an Albritton Scholar; and a J.D. from Yale Law School, where he was an editor of the Yale Law Journal and Editor-in-Chief of the Yale Law & Policy Review

Curriculum Vitae

SSRN Published Papers


  • J.D. Yale Law School
  • MPhil University of Oxford
  • B.S. Georgetown University

Work Experience

  • Director of Empirical & Policy Research; Research Professor
    James E. Rogers College of Law
    2020 - Present
  • Visiting Professor and Research Scholar
    James E. Rogers College of Law
    2018 - 2020
  • Research Director, The Access to Justice Lab
    Harvard Law School
    2016 - 2018
  • Assistant Professor of Law
    William & Mary Law School
    2012 - 2016
  • Visiting Assistant Professor of Law
    Duke Law School
    2010 - 2012