2020 National Conference of Constitutional Law Scholars


Due to concerns about the developing coronavirus situation, we have decided to cancel this year’s National Conference of Constitutional Law Scholars. We arrived at this decision reluctantly and with great regret and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We will host the conference again next spring and keep everyone apprised of the date and proposal submission guidelines. We hope to see you then, if not sooner.

Conference participants can cancel their Westward Look room reservations with no penalty.


Andrew Coan
David Schwartz
Shalev Roisman

Updated: 3/6/2020

March 20-21, 2020

The third annual National Conference of Constitutional Law Scholars takes place March 20-21, 2020, in Tucson, Arizona, at the Westward Look Resort. Hosted by the University of Arizona College of Law’s William H. Rehnquist Center, the conference goal is to create a vibrant and useful forum for constitutional scholars to gather and exchange ideas. Jack Goldsmith will deliver the keynote address.

Event: National Conference of Constitutional Law Scholars
When: March 20-21, 2020
Location: Westward Look Resort, 245 E. Ina Rd., Tucson, AZ 85704. 

All constitutional law scholars are invited to attend. The Rehnquist Center will provide continental breakfast and lunch for all registered conference participants.

Distinguished commentators include:

  • Mitch Berman, professor of law, Penn Law
  • Josh Chafetz, professor of law, Cornell Law School 
  • Vicki Jackson, professor of law, Harvard Law School 
  • Maggie Lemos, professor of law, Duke Law
  • Jane Schacter, professor of law, Stanford Law School 
  • Lawrence Solum, professor of law, Georgetown Law 

The conference organizers are Andrew Coan (Arizona), David Schwartz (Wisconsin) and Brad Snyder (Georgetown).

View conference agenda here. 

Hotel Information

Due to the conference cancelation, conference participants can cancel their Westward Look room reservations with no penalty.


Contact Information

Bernadette Wilkinson
(520) 626-1629


About the Rehnquist Center

The William H. Rehnquist Center on the Constitutional Structures of Government was established in 2006 at the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law. The non-partisan center honors the legacy of Chief Justice Rehnquist by encouraging public understanding of the structural constitutional themes that were integral to his jurisprudence: the separation of powers among the three branches of government, the balance of powers between the federal and state governments, and among sovereigns more generally, and judicial independence.