New Safe Return Committee

May 12, 2020

Dear Colleagues,

In light of the university’s intent to re-open campus in August for the fall term, each college has been asked to prepare a college-level plan to ensure a safe return to campus. I have appointed a committee to meet this charge, the ultimate goals of which are the health and safety of the community while delivering a high-quality education.

The New Safe Return committee is already hard at work examining a multitude of scenarios and they will be reaching out to all of you for input in the coming weeks and months. Our initial draft plan is due to the provost’s office on June 1 and will undergo revisions thereafter. The University’s Campus Re-Entry Plan Working Group has provided high-level guidance to the colleges.

Our New Safe Return committee members are Vanessa Buch, Andrew Coan, Robert Glennon, Jason Kreag, Toni Massaro, Teresa Miguel-Stearns (co-chair), Justin Pidot, Marvin Slepian, MD, and Bernadette Wilkinson (co-chair). They are working on plans around COVID-19 testing policies, methods of delivering instruction, workplace options, the physical plant, PPE and sanitation, support and resources for the law community, and event planning. They are pulling in colleagues from around the College of Law to provide information and expertise as needed, and they plan to invite broader faculty, staff, and student involvement over the summer.

The committee and I will provide regular updates to the College community on our Coronavirus page and via email, and try to answer questions along the way.

Thank you,

Marc, Bernadette, and Teresa