Author, Princeton Professor Eddie Glaude Jr. to discuss Democracy and Race at Inaugural Pitt Family Foundation Speaker Series

Jan. 7, 2021

The University of Arizona Law’s Pitt Family Foundation Speaker Series welcomes its inaugural speaker Eddie Glaude Jr.  – author, James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor and chair of the African American Studies Department at Princeton University  on Tuesday, Jan. 26, 2021. Glaude, who speaks to the complex dynamics of the American experience, will talk about democracy and race with Tucson mayor and University of Arizona Law Professor of Practice Jonathan Rothschild.  

The Pitt Family Foundation Speaker Series is part of the Participatory Democracy Initiative at the University of Arizona. The Participatory Democracy Initiative is an interdisciplinary and community-engaged program of the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law, the School of Government & Public Policy, and the School of Journalism.  

When: Jan. 26, 20215:30-6:30 p.m. (MST)  

Who may attend: This event is free and open to the public.   

Background: Eddie S. Glaude Jr. is an intellectual who speaks to the complex dynamics of the American experience. He is the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor and the Chair of the African American Studies Department at Princeton University.   

His most well-known books, "Democracy in Black: How Race Still Enslaves the American Soul," and "In a Shade of Blue: Pragmatism and the Politics of Black America," take a wide look at black communities, the difficulties of race in the United States, and the challenges facing our democracy. And, his most recent book, "Begin Again: James Baldwin's America and Its Urgent Lessons for Our Own," has been named one of the 100 Must-Read books of 2020.  

Glaude is an American critic in the tradition of James Baldwin and Ralph Waldo Emerson. In his writings, the country's complexities, vulnerabilities, and the opportunities for hope come into full view--hope that is, in one of his favorite quotes from W.E.B Du Bois, "not hopeless, but a bit unhopeful."   

Glaude is the former president of the American Academy of Religion. Known to be a convener of conversations and debates, Glaude takes care to engage fellow citizens of all ages and backgrounds--from young activists to fellow academics, journalists and commentators, and followers on Twitter--in dialogue about the direction of the nation. His scholarship and his sense of himself as a public intellectual are driven by a commitment to think carefully with others in public.  


Event Contact: Bernadette Wilkinson, senior program coordinator, James E. Rogers College of Law, bwilkins@email.arizona.edu, 520-626-1629.