Stacy Rupprecht Jane

Professor of Practice; Director, Innovation for Justice Program

Stacy Jane is the Director of Innovation for Justice and has two decades of experience in community advocacy and expanding the reach of civil legal services for under-represented populations. Her research focuses on the application of human-centered design and innovation to social justice issues including eviction, debt collection, domestic violence, regulatory reform, and online dispute resolution. Prior to launching i4J , she worked in the United States District Court for the District of Arizona and served as an adjunct professor at the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law. Stacy was appointed to the Arizona Supreme Court's Access to Justice Commission in 2021. She received the Association of American Law Schools' Deborah L. Rhode Award in 2022, which honors the contributions, service, and leadership of Deborah Rhode by recognizing new trailblazers in legal education and the legal profession. Stacy received the Arizona State Bar Award of Special Merit in 2020 for her contributions to the furtherance of public understanding of the legal system, the administration of justice, and confidence in the legal profession. Stacy earned a B.A. from Trinity University and a J.D. from the University of Arizona.


  • J.D. James E. Rogers College of Law
    Graduated summa cum laude.
  • B.A. Trinity University, San Antonio, Texas
    Graduated magna cum laude

Work Experience

  • Professor of Practice; Director, Innovation for Justice Program
    James E. Rogers College of Law
    2018 - present
  • Part-Time Professor of Practice
    James E. Rogers College of Law
    2012 - 2018
  • Judicial Clerk
    Judge Jennifer G. Zipps (formerly Magistrate Judge Jennifer C. Guerin), United States District Court, District of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona
    2005 - 2018
  • Associate Attorney
    DeConcini, McDonald, Yetwin & Lacy, Tucson, Arizona
    2003 - 2005
  • Judicial Clerk
    The Hon. William C. Canby, Jr., Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, Phoenix, Arizona
    2002 - 2003


Innovation for Justice
Legal Design & Access to Justice