University of Arizona Law Announces Inaugural Faculty Research Award Winners

July 6, 2021

The University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law has named the first recipients of the new Faculty Research Awards, created to highlight the many exceptional and diverse scholarly achievements of Arizona Law faculty. This year’s winners are:  

Distinguished Public Service Scholar: Negar Katirai and Shefali Milczarek-Desai 
Distinguished Early Career Scholar: Albertina Antognini  
Distinguished Legal Scholar: Jane Bambauer 
Faculty Research Fellowship: Simone Sepe 

This year’s recipients are emblematic of the cutting edge and impactful work taking place across the College of Law,” said Andrew Coan, associate dean for research, professor of law and director of the William H. Rehnquist Center on the Constitutional Structures of Government. “From nonmarital families to immigrant workers to domestic violence to the economics of contract law to the future of the internet, these outstanding scholars are leading conversations that will shape the future of law and legal scholarship in Arizona, the U.S., and the world.” 

Coan along with Professor of Law Cathy O'GradyProfessor Emerita of Law and Co-Director of the Family and Juvenile Law Certificate Program Barbara AtwoodDirector of Legal Writing and Clinical Professor of Law Susie Salmon and Regents Professor of Law and Faculty Co-Chair of the Indigenous Peoples Law and Policy Program Rebecca Tsosie were part of the first Faculty Research Awards Committee, tasked with reviewing applications from the Arizona Law community and recommending this year’s award winners.  

“Although all the faculty members awarded do innovative and impactful work and richly deserve the recognition, they represent just a narrow snapshot of the rich diversity of significant research and scholarship taking place at this institution. The committee faced a difficult task selecting the award winners and was impressed by the quality, quantity, and range of the contributions our colleagues make toward identifying and answering vexing questions and creating thoughtful, meaningful change in our laws, our institutions and the legal profession,” said Salmon.  

They are wonderful examples of the extraordinary intellectual community that makes Arizona Law a special place,” concluded Coan.