Samuel M. Fegtly Moot Court Competition

The annual Samuel M. Fegtly Moot Court Competition is an appellate advocacy competition open to students who have taken or are taking Advanced Legal Writing that academic year.

The competition is based on the problem that students briefed in Advanced Legal Writing. Students participate in practice arguments with Moot Court Board members and then compete in scored rounds judged by local attorneys and judges. Past final rounds have been judged by jurists from the United States Supreme Court, the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, the Arizona Supreme Court, the Arizona Court of Appeals, and the United States District Court for the District of Arizona.

Students competing in Fegtly are eligible for the following awards:

  • Suzanne Rabe Award for Best Brief
  • Excellence in Brief Writing Award
  • F. Britton Burns Award for the Best Argument in the Final Round
  • Samuel M. Fegtly Award for the Best Combined Brief and Oral Advocacy Scores in the Preliminary Rounds
  • Excellence in Oral Argument Award

The top 2L students in the competition are chosen to represent Arizona Law at the ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competition.

Faculty Contact

Professor Tessa L. Dysart
(520) 626-3698


Advanced Legal Writing (concurrent registration permissible)

Academic Credit

One unit